Slough Swap Meet 2011

An early start for the hour-ish drive down the M40 got me to the Montem Sports Centre in Slough just after the 9am opening time.

There was still a huge queue winding it’s way around the building so I parked up, met up with Jay from Wales, emptied my boot of wing and wheel which he’d bought from me and took a wander around the car park, camera at at the ready.

It was a bright, sunny day which must have tempted many to bring out their VWs for the swap meet. Plenty of lowered vehicles as usual and the normal hand full of stock VWs. I think I found them all but sorry if I missed anyone! I was fortunate to be able to talk to Avtar, the owner of a loverly unrestored ’56 Horizon Blue Swedish Oval, more to follow on that one…

I then ventured inside for a couple of laps of the stalls. It never seems to be a busy as it used to be. Perhaps it’s the recession or, maybe it’s due to everyone trading parts on the internet? Still, I always look forward to heading to Slough to catch up with everyone and search out any bargains, few and far between this year. I guess I should have joined the queue instead of taking photos in the car park!

One comment

  1. kevster

    2nd pic top row is the twin of my first bus, spooky. Was a regular at the chelsea cruise before they started making people park up. I bought it in deep, dark wales on the spot and had to put an engine in it to get it home. Luckily i had taken a 1500 twinport down in the boot of the fiat uno!

Leave a Reply

