3000 Questions

First, a big thank you to everyone who is following this blog, you now total more than 3000! A steady increase since I started in September 2011 which is not long in the great scheme of things.

I guess I must be doing something right but I get very little feedback. It’s usually from the same people who generally ‘like’ my photos on a fairly regular basis. It amounts to just 1% of those following Bandwagen so, I was just wandering what the other 3,060 of you would ‘like’!

More words? More show reports? Some specific features on vehicles or perhaps I should start to write some photography ‘how-to’ type posts? I’ve toyed with the idea of starting a regular aircooled VW photography competition if enough people were interested in taking some pictures and entering?

So, it’s over to all of you: How would you like to see Bandwagen develop? ย ๐Ÿ™‚

11 comments

  1. Beracuda

    Greetings from Athens, Greece. Your pictures are just great. Since I am a ‘legend believer’ I would suggest whenever possible to add some explanatory comments (where/who/when and the likes) to accompany the pics. It may make them a bit more interesting and trigger comments and dialogues.

    Keep up the good work, Best,
    Byron

    • Malc

      Hi Bryon, That’s a good idea, I’ll try and add a little more info on each picture where I can and perhaps throw up some more questions for discussion… ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. wadejohnston1962

    Just keep doing what you’re doing. I hate to say it but most people just don’t comment or participate. My blog has been rolling since 2009, and like you I have an ever increasing number of followers and daily page view. Also, like you, I get about 1% of people liking my posts, or commenting, and it’s usually the same people each time. Like I said, keep doing what you’re doing and don’t get discouraged by a lack of direct feedback in the form of likes, and comments.

    • Malc

      I guess you’re right Wade. Being on ‘freshly pressed’ a couple of times in the early days was really encouraging. I’d like think the quality of my posts has improved a bit over the last couple of years! As I said above I might take a slightly different angle and try and prompt a response when I write…

  3. campervancrazy

    Congratulations on reaching 3000 – wow!!! Always really excited about the great photos. No need for any change there ๐Ÿ™‚ I believe you often use unusual angles and I keep thinking I should look at that more systematically in your photos to learn for my own. But handing out that information is probably a bit like giving trade secrets away. Perhaps sometimes some more details about the cars would be nice. Best wishes from Berlin! Roman

  4. Armand

    Hey there, this blog should represent yourself so in my opinion everything you like you should post here, just one think I must say to you, not mention that I love what you have done until now that`s why I would be more happy to see posts more often. Keep up the amazing work

  5. YeaItsEdgar

    As Car Enthusiast I’m sure we can all relate to what I am about to say. Remember that one time when you decided to try to fix something that wasn’t broken? Like something on your car that didn’t really need to be messed with but our OCD car love made us mess with something to try to get it perfect, resulting in something catastrophic.. I remember once I had the bright idea to change the bolts around my door because I figured silver dress up bolts would look better then the original black ones. Well one broke. Now I have all silver bolts and one broken black one. What I guess I am trying to say is If it aint broke don’t fix it. Every Blogger on here aspire to reach the level of success your blog has. Just Keep up the great work!

    • Malc

      Thanks for the kind words. I’ve not been able to get to any car shows over the last month and, the weather has taken a dive. Autumn is here! There’s a localish VW show next weekend so hopefully I’ll make it along…

  6. MrsBoardwell

    I loooooove your blog. You have really cool photography and the subjects – obviously! – are v photogenic and interesting without needing too many extra things. I personally would love some nerdy data in respect of Fstop numbers, ISO, speed just to improve my own picture taking qualities but I guess I’ll be the minority so don’t lose any sleep over it ๐Ÿ™‚
    I find there’s not always enough time to comment and until you’ve taken it to a more personal level I can’t always think about something that’s worth putting in a comment other than *I like* – so I might as well hit *like* ๐Ÿ˜‰ I guess if you wanted a more *engaging* audience you’d have to start finding more common ground. Or chit chat?

  7. duckfatchips

    Keep doing what you’re good at- finding great shots of old VWs. I’ve just posted my favourite photo of my favourite VW on my blog and I’d be delighted if you wanted to use it.

Leave a Reply

